I hope that people will like me, and yet I can’t expect it. I want people to remember that I have good qualities, yet I don’t actually believe they will.

Major Example:

I am applying for positions in the recreation/outdoor industry and have multiple certifications that enhance my application. When speaking with the women who carried me for six months (guess who?), I mentioned one of my certifications-lifeguard.

Her reply:

“You’re not a lifeguard, that’s almost impossible.” (She is attributing this to the fact that I have Cerebral Palsy.)

Please watch a video I made on YouTube a few weeks ago, to understand more about what I can do, and maybe you too will be surprised that just because a person has a disability, doesn’t mean he/she is disabled.

Video link:

I am a lifeguard, and when I took the class, the instructor was helpful in having me perform the skills in the way that I could, and though not textbook, still safe and effective. I haven’t found many people who accept a person with disabilities and help him/her to function in the world… every so often there is an exception.

The messages I’m going to put out there  today are:

1. I equate my disabilities (most are minor or mild in how they affect me) to a person who is bi-racial. For simplicity’s sake, let’s say a person is of African and Caucasian origin, A.K.A., dark-brown/light-brown (I despise saying Black/White, after all we are all shades of brown.

I digress… A bi-racial person likely feels that he/she is half of each origin, yet the Caucasians see her as “Black” and the Africans see her as “White.

I compare myself to someone who is bi-racial because oftentimes, when I am with people who don’t have disabilities, I am looked at as disabled and when I am with people who have a disability to a greater extent than I, I am perceived at having no disability or at best, “a minor inconvenience”. I think and feel that I am in a constant battle of war with myself and others.

2. The world in large, doesn’t adapt for people with disabilities. After all, we comprise about 10% of the world’s population, a genuine minority. Often, we adapt to the world, because the world adapting to us would be time-demanding and expensive for the   general population. Often, it is not thought about how costly it is for a person with a disability and I have been looked at as though I am a burden.

3. Please comment on any of my posts, it’s always nice to know what you want to know or have questions/comments about! I am very open when someone asks; it’s when things are done/said without my knowledge and then word gets through the grapevine, that I become discouraged about my situation.

4. Thanks for reading, and hopefully digesting this worldly knowledge :o)!

Comments
  1. This looks like a terrific blog and I was impressed with the vid! The idea of a lifeguard with CP is going to be something of a major shift in everyone’s concepts but I think you proved the point nicely! Although I don’t work with disabled people, I have friends who do – here’s a post I’ve just written about one of them: http://kenthinksaloud.wordpress.com/2012/03/05/rehab-part-3-work-with-disabilities/ – hope you like it as much as I enjoyed yours 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

