Day 1: Vegan Diet

Posted: 20 J0000003UTC 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

“Eat to live and don’t live to eat.”

That’s the main message of the movie Forks Over Knives. During the break this week, someone on the trip with me mentioned that she wanted to become vegan. Often, I’ve considered this diet, never in with intention though.

I’ve been a vegetarian for nearly 20 years. Initially, I became a vegetarian because my step-sister became one. She was 17 years old, I was 7 years old. I wanted to emulate her. At my mother’s house, though she was skeptical at this idea, she allowed me to be a vegetarian, and slowly, the household diet changed, and became increasingly healthier with less and less meat products being consumed at mealtimes.

My step-mother (now ex-stepmother) was the “poster child” of the evil stepmother Cinderella’s endured. She didn’t believe it was right for a child to be making decisions and would literally force meat down my throat. If I didn’t want to eat it, the threat of being abused loomed over my head. So, every other weekend, I consumed meat. This made me despise meat more so.

When I was 13, I went on a vacation to Alaska with some of my family and family friends. We pulled over on the side of the road to watch a caribou prance along the prairie. The picturesque moment was short-lived because a pick-up truck pulled up behind us. A man stepped out, pulled out his rifle and shot the caribou down. He had no qualms about doing this in the presence of three kids and three adults. One other person (a kid) became a vegetarian that day and has been one (to my knowledge) ever since. That was nearly 15 years ago. My practices became stricter that day and have remained so ever since.

Oftentimes, people will think I’m a vegan because I don’t drink milk, and I go through periods where I am turned off by eggs. I am not a vegan, at least not prior to today.

After thinking about it for a few days and watching the movie Forks Over Knives, I have decided to begin a vegan diet. Initially, I told myself that I would allow one non-vegan item and I decided that would be yogurt (frozen and non). I may consider that option still. Even my houseparents at boarding school who were hardcore vegans down to even what they would wear allowed themselves one vegetarian item. They chose it to be ice cream. So, we’ll see. I just know that I’m ready for a change, and so is my body.

If you have an Amazon Prime, Hulu+, or Netflix membership, you can check out Forks Over Knives and other related movies such as Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead.

Leave a Reply

